Chocolate is the new gravel

As usual I don’t really have anything to write about so therefore I should write random inchoerent things instead, but I don’t really have anything incoherent to write either so I’ll instead just post a code snippet from my project.

chunk::chunk(int p)
{
cPosition = p;
//I don’t remember why I’m multiplying by 5 but it works so I’m not touching it.
poteto = core::vector3df( fieldIndexX.at(cPosition)*5, fieldIndexY.at(cPosition)*5, fieldIndexZ.at(cPosition)*5 );
t1 = steady_clock::now();
b_blocks = new block**[CHUNKSIZE];
for(int8_t i = 0; i < CHUNKSIZE; i++)
{
b_blocks[i] = new block*[CHUNKSIZE];
for(int8_t j = 0; j < CHUNKSIZE; j++)
{
b_blocks[i][j] = new block[CHUNKSIZE];
}
}
BlockType BT_T = BT_NULL;
int tst;
for(int x = 1; x < CHUNKSIZE-1; x++)
{
for(int y = 1; y < CHUNKSIZE-1; y++)
{
for(int z = 1; z < CHUNKSIZE-1; z++) { //loBound, hiBound, algo (0-3), octaves, persistence, x, y, z, scale b_blocks[x][y][z].setBlock(tGen->chunkGen(0.0f, 2.0f, 2, 6.0f, 10.0f, x, y, z, 1.0f));
// 0.0f, 2.0f, 2, 6.0f, 10.0f, x, y, z, 1.0f yields very weird straight pillars of solid matter with large airgaps.
}
}
}
createMesh(p);
t2 = steady_clock::now();
time_span = duration_cast<duration>(t2 – t1)*1000;
std::cout << “Time: ” << time_span.count() << “ms” << std::endl;
}

Whoever can tell me what that code does get’s a free letter ‘a’, mind I already know so no cheating 😉
oooh and that’s actually pretty incoherent and somewhat unprovoked so mission success?

Anyway, back to figuring out how to modulate simplex into something useful, infinite vertical columns is rather useless.
perhaps I should be using scaled octave noise instead of scaled raw noise… or maybe just octave noise? Anywho, here’s a screenshot.
bars

Write your text word response things here and I might read them when I get around to it.

